New to fitness…

So last year before going on a trip, I got on a scale to measure the weight of one of my suitcases. I was surprised to see that my weight (without the suitcase) was at 168lbs. Before we had our first child, I was about 150lbs. In college, I was about 130lbs (yikes). So I was a little shocked when I saw 168. I kind of felt like my pants were getting a little tighter, but this basically assured me that it wasn’t just multiple washes that was shrinking my pants. This was my wake up call for the need to change my life style. I previously did not do any type of workout, other than playing pickup ice hockey. During my glory days, I would play hockey 3-5 times a week. After my wife had our 2nd child, my hockey time has dropped to about once every other week. Compound that with bad eating habits and little sleep,my health has been slipping.

I made a commitment that after my trip, I would do something. I would do my research and find effective and efficient ways to get into shape. I don’t have any goals to become ripped or big. I just want to get into healthy shape. My definition of “healthy” is basically no big belly and being in good enough shape so I could still eat crappy food every once and a while without feeling like I was breaking some nasty rule. This is a goal I have set out for myself (and my wife) , and so the journey begins….

Leave a Reply

